Palo Rules Issues

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site, you are agreeing to our Cookie Policy.

• Palo Rules Issues

Still haven't lost all patience with Palo, but the issues with rules are driving me insane. See attached Test database - nothing tricky, except a few IF conditions and a "rolling" calculation from month to month. See the VALUE errors reflected on the view in the Excel spreadsheet. When removing the IF conditions, all is fine, so the index numbers are not causing any issues. When adding the simple IF, I end up with this issue.

As rules similar to these are required regularly in any reasonable budgeting system, I'm sure there has to be a simple solution. Anyone able to assist here? Will be much appreciated
    • RE: Palo Rules Issues

Snoozy,

Can you please post the rule text here on the forum?

I have extensive experience in TM1 and I expected the rules to work in the same way. Actually, Palo enterprise Rules are a completely different beast.

========================
      THE PALO RULE COMMANDMENTS
      ========================

1.THOU SHALT BACK UP THY RULES FILE
      Palo rules can be fast, brutal and very unforgiving. You can easily crash your server, delete all your rules , etc by writing a dodgy rule. So always back up the rules by exporting them before you modify anything.

2. THY MARKERS ARE NOT THY FEEDERS
      Markers are NOT TM1 Feeders. They operate in a different way to get a similar result. I am still working out what that difference is. For example, if you have an unmarked n level rule, you will find you will still be able to enter data in against that cell. If you do not want users to do that, ensure that the cell is marked.

3. USE THY PALO ETL TO MANAGE THY RULES