Installing Palo on Ubuntu

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site, you are agreeing to our Cookie Policy.

• Installing Palo on Ubuntu

Dear all,

I am new on this forum (and with Palo) and I have a few questions to ask you: I would like to install Palo on my computer (Ubuntu 9.10) because I might be hired by a consulting company who works on Palo implementation projects.

The problem is, I have no technical background (only functional) and I could use some help to install and configure Palo.

Can you please tell me what to do or tell me where I can find a complete tutorial explaining how to ? I copied the files and extracted the tar.gz archives, then tried to launch the "install.sh" script but it does not seem to do much. I installed MySQL yesterday, do I also need an application server ? Which one could I use ?

Thanks in advance for your help !

best regards
    laloune
    laloune

Post hoc, non est propter hoc

The post was edited 1 time, last by laloune ().

• Hello everybody,

I finally got to run the installation script through the console by typing "sh install.sh" with root rights.

Still, I now have another problem: when I launch the startserver.sh script (also with root rights), I get these errors:

Source Code

1. (98)Address already in use: make_sock: could not bind to address [::]:80
    2. (98)Address already in use: make_sock: could not bind to address 0.0.0.0:80
    3. no listening sockets available, shutting down
    4. Unable to open logs

when I try to know which process uses currently the port 80 (sudo netstat -tulpn | grep :80), it will be told to me that tcp6 is currently using it. I guess that the server is not started then.

Would you please mind telling me what I should do to allow worksheetserver to start on the port 80 ?

Thanks in advance for your help

Best regards
    laloune
    laloune

Post hoc, non est propter hoc