Problem in setting up Jedox GPU acceleration

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site, you are agreeing to our Cookie Policy.

• Problem in setting up Jedox GPU acceleration

I am trying to setup Jedox GPU acceleration for one of my cubes as a POC.
    Its my first time so I am naive in this area.

I added entry to Palo.ini file
    enable-gpu

restarted all services of Jedox.

Went to Jedox web -> modeler -> right clicked on my cube & selected ->"Activate GPU Acceleration"
    I see a message Proceed or No -> I click Yes -> Status Bar is moving for few seconds and then
    BOOM - I get a message "Request timed out"
    BANG - My PaloMolap service went down.

When I try to restart PaloMolap service - It will not startup. (restarting the machine all things are fine, but cube is not GPU activated)
    No activity I am noticing on task manager.

What I am doing wrong?
    and what It will take to make a cube into a gube :)

Best regards,
    Noel.
    ======================================================
    I am using:
    Jedox 4 SR1
    My GPU is NVIDIA GEFORCE GT 630M which is CUDA compliant.
    Dedicated VRAM of 1 GB DDR3
    CPU Intel ICORE5 3.2 GHZ frequency.
    RAM - 8 GB
  • Hi Noel,

as far I know special binaries (version of palo.exe should be 4.0.5 - the number 5 at the end is important) for GPU are installed only if supported GPU card is detected and officially supported are only Tesla cards. The card type is detected on setup. If not present only CPU version is installed.
    General advice: to get more info from palo.log change in palo.ini
    verbose debug
    or
    verbose trace
    // can slow down the system extremely - use it for limited time only
  • Hello Noel,
    Yes, Jiri is right.
    As described in the documentation, Jedox OLAP Accelerator supports GPUs of the NVIDIA Tesla series.
    The GT 630M is not a Tesla GPU.