Beginner relational to Molap design help

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site, you are agreeing to our Cookie Policy.

• Beginner relational to Molap design help

Hi,
    I'm a beginner at both MOLAP, Jedox and BI. I have a snowflake database to import into Jedox. I gather in MOLAP that essentially, the legs of the star correspond to a dimension and that the side branches of the legs are handled by creating a hierarchy within that dimension.

I have come to some difficulties on that path - for instance, lets say my fact table is production of apples. My star schema has a location leg made up of a city and a country of which the country is a branch of the snowflake leg, as there could be a number of locations all using the same country. As far as I understand it, this should be handled in a location dimension with level 1 as the country and level 2 as the city. But this does not work as cities and countries are different objects in the relational database and should not be put into the same dimension table; If it's in Luxembourg, I have a data issue as I cannot put Luxembourg into both the city and the country levels.

So I did not do that. Instead, I imported the two as two different dimensions, in the knowledge that the fact table (cube) would essentially keep the city Luxembourg in the country Luxembourg related correctly so long as the fact table always associated them together. However, when I came to making a drill down, I found I did not know how to find a sub set of one dimension based on another without going all the way to the cube to find out. Specifically, I wanted two combo boxes, one for country and one for city where the cities in the second combobox would always be within the country selected in the first.

so.. what is the best implementation?
  • Hi, I undertand that your relational system stores data in the following format and you want to analyze it by geography for example.

Paris | France | 100
    Lyon | France | 100