pasting data?

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site, you are agreeing to our Cookie Policy.

• pasting data?

Hello,

We've recently been testing (playing with) Palo and are very excited by its potential.

Presently our users use existing spreadsheets to cut & paste into our consolidation spreadsheets, rather than re-typing information.
    When I copy and paste a raw number cell, i.e. 500.00 into a palo View, the PALO.DATAC(...) function is obviously overwritten and the cube isn't updated with the value.

I've tried pasting by value, etc, with no luck.

Is there any way of pasting into a PALO cell without overwriting the existing PALO.DATAC function?

Thanks,
    Kel.
  • RE: pasting data?

Hi Kel

I'm no expert with excel but I don't think it would be possible to paste your values into a cell which contains a formula since excel would loose the formula in the cell.

If this is the case then there are still a few options...

1) Send your users a template and then have a separate sheet which can write the values in - see the attached spreadsheet. You could even send them this spreadsheet since if they don't have Palo installed or running they will see something like #N/A for all the values
    2) Give the end users direct access to Palo, and they can therefore type directly into DATAC forumulas and the values will be put into the database..
    Palo is a database and is therefore multiuser, if your woried about users browsing or entering data into parts of a cube where they shouldn't then you might want to wait for version 1.1 in which user/group security is planned. Therefore you could create groups such as UKAdmin, UKReader, UKWriter, USAdmin, USReader, USWriteer etc...
    3) Let them access it over the web - see 213.239.204.60/browser/demo_rc2.php - I know this doesn't have the write back button enabled - but if you view the HTML you can the line